菜单

TechnologyRadar

有态度的前沿技术解析
Vol.22

下载技术雷达 Vol.22

English| Español| Português| 中文| ไทย|

本期主题

我们从未相信远程制作一期雷达是可能的,但我们现在已经做到了。这种改变是永久性的吗?
我们越来越发现,几乎软件开发和交付的方方面面都被当成代码来管理。但即便软件快要吃掉(统领)这个世界了,从业者们仍然会频频忽略掉那些已经被证实有效的工程实践。
随着业界更加用心地思考数据在现代系统中的工作方式,我们很高兴地看到数据分析和机器学习相关的技术、工具正在日益成熟。
随着 Kubernetes 继续占据主导地位,我们看到其繁荣的生态系统在不断发展和壮大,并能扬长避短。

Zoom 里的大象


"需求是发明之母"——谚语

随着相关技术缓慢成熟,许多公司已经实践了远程办公的想法。但是非常突然地,一场全球瘟疫大流行迫使全世界的公司迅速从根本上改变了他们的工作方式,以此来保护一些生产力。正如很多人已经注意到,“居家办公”与“在疫情期间被迫居家办公”是截然不同的,并且我们认为在这种新的背景下要实现完全的生产力,前方还会有一段路要走。

我们从未相信远程制作一期雷达是可能的,但我们现在已经做到了——这是有史以来第一次在技术雷达委员会成员并未会面的情况下制作的雷达。许多被提议的条目都指向了为一流的远程协作赋能的迫切需求。我们不想忽略房间里的大象(译注:Elephant in the room,是一个英语惯用表达,指显而易见却被集体选择性忽略的问题),以回避谈论这场危机,但做好远程优先的合作是一个深邃而微妙的话题,因此可以确定的是并非我们的所有建议都能符合雷达的传统格式。所以伴随这一期雷达,你还会拥有一期讨论我们以远程优先的方式制作雷达的体验的播客、一份关于远程优先生产力的建议的报告、一场涉及危机中的技术策略的网络研讨会,还有一些指向其他 ThoughtWorks 材料的链接,包括我们的 Remote Working Playbook 。我们希望这些材料与网络上其他材料一道,帮助组织在这片未知水域中安全航行。

X 也是软件


我们经常鼓励软件交付生态系统中的其他团队,采用敏捷软件开发团队所开拓的、有益的工程实践。但我们也发现这些工程实践在部分领域的应用进展缓慢,所以我们经常讨论这个主题。在本期技术雷达中,我们决定再次强调基础设施即代码以及流水线即代码,并讨论了基础设施配置、机器学习流水线等相关的领域。我们发现,通常负责这些领域的团队并不采用软件设计原则、自动化、持续集成及测试等久经考验的工程实践。我们理解有很多因素都会阻碍部分工程实践的快速发展,如软件(必然和偶然的)复杂性、缺乏知识、政治原因、缺乏合适工具等。但是,组织可以从敏捷软件交付实践中获得的好处也是显而易见的,所以值得为此付出一些努力。

数据视角的成熟和扩展


在本期技术雷达中,关于数据成熟度的主题横跨了多个条目和象限,特别是围绕分析数据和机器学习的技术和工具。我们注意到自然语言处理(NLP)领域中的许多持续创新;我们也欢迎机器学习的全生命周期工具套件的出现和持续发展,将经久不衰的工程实践与迭代中表现良好的工具组合结合起来,表明"机器学习也是软件"。最后,对于像微服务这样的分布式架构,我们看到了对数据网格的极大兴趣,这是一种能在分布式系统中有效地服务和使用大规模分析数据的方法。随着业界更加用心地思考数据在现代系统中的工作方式,我们也为这个领域的总体方向和开放的视角感到欢欣鼓舞,并期待在不久的将来能看到振奋人心的创新。

Kubernetes生态系统的寒武纪爆发


Kubernetes 市场主导地位的持续巩固,必然促成其生态系统的蓬勃发展。我们在工具、平台和技术象限中,围绕 Kubernetes 讨论了若干雷达条目。这表明该主题已无处不在。例如,Lensk9s 简化了集群管理,kind 有助于本地测试,Gloo 则是一种可选的 API 网关。Hydra 是为在 Kubernetes 上运行而优化了的 OAuth 服务器,而 Argo CD 则使用 Kuberenetes 的原生预期状态管理功能,来实现一个持续交付服务器。这些发展表明,围绕Kubernetes 完全可以建立一个支持性的生态系统。Kubernetes 虽然提供了关键功能,但其抽象程度对于大多数用户而言,不是太细碎,就是太高深。为解决这些复杂性,相关工具就应运而生,以简化 Kubernetes 的配置和使用,或提供 Kubernetes 核心功能中所缺失的特性。随着 Kubernetes 继续占据主导地位,我们看到其繁荣的生态系统在不断发展和壮大,并能扬长避短。这个生态系统正日趋成熟,我们希望它会朝着一组新的更高层次的抽象去演化,以发挥 Kubernetes 的优势,而不是给出众多选择,让人莫衷一是。

查看存档并阅读往期内容

订阅。保持关注。

我们将持续发布与技术雷达相关的内容。点击订阅,可在第一时间获得通知。

谢谢!

如果你已经订阅技术雷达,请关注收件箱,我们会尽快与你取得联系。

Menu

TechnologyRadar

An opinionated guide to technology frontiers
Vol.22

Download the Technology Radar Vol.22

English| Español| Português| 中文| ไทย|

Themes for this edition

We created this Radar entirely remotely, which we never thought was possible. Has work (as we know it) forever changed?
Increasingly we see almost all aspects of software development and delivery managed as code. But while software might be eating the world, practitioners too frequently overlook proven engineering practices.
As the industry thinks more diligently about how data should work in modern systems, we’re encouraged to see the growing maturity in the techniques and tools surrounding analytical data and machine learning.
As Kubernetes continues to dominate, we see a rich ecosystem growing and expanding to take advantage of its strengths and address its weaknesses.

The Elephant in the Zoom


"Necessity is the mother of invention" – proverb

Many companies have experimented with the idea of remote working as the technology to enable it has slowly matured. But suddenly, a global pandemic has forced companies all over the world to rapidly and fundamentally change their way of working to preserve some productivity. As many have observed, "working from home" is starkly different from "being forced to work from home during a pandemic", and we think there will be a journey ahead to become fully productive in this new context.

We've never believed that creating a Radar remotely was possible, and yet here we are — this is the first Radar we've ever produced without meeting in person. Many of the proposed blips spoke to the pressing need to enable first-class remote collaboration. We didn't want to ignore the elephant in the room and not comment on the crisis, but doing a good job of remote-first collaboration is a deep and nuanced subject and certainly not all of our advice would fit in the Radar format. So alongside this edition you'll find a podcast where we discuss our experiences in creating the Radar remote-first, a written experience report including advice on remote-first productivity, a webinar covering tech strategies in a crisis and links to other ThoughtWorks materials, including our remote working playbook. We hope that these materials, together with other internet resources, will help organizations that attempt to navigate these unknown waters.

X is Software Too


We often encourage other parts of the software delivery ecosystem to adopt beneficial engineering practices pioneered by agile software development teams; we return to this topic so often because we keep finding niches where we see slow progress on this advice. For this Radar, we decided to call out again infrastructure as code as well as pipelines as code, and we also had a number of conversations about infrastructure configurations, ML pipelines and other related areas. We find that the teams who commonly own these areas do not embrace enduring engineering practices such as applying software design principles, automation, continuous integration, testing, and so on. We understand that many factors hamper fast movement for some engineering practices: complexity (both essential and accidental), lack of knowledge, political impediments, lack of suitable tooling and many others. However, the benefits to organizations that embrace agile software delivery practices are clear and worth some effort to achieve.

Data Perspectives Maturing and Expanding


A theme that spanned many blips and quadrants in this edition concerned maturity in data, particularly techniques and tools surrounding analytical data and machine learning. We note many continuing innovations in the natural language processing (NLP) space. We also welcome both the emergence and continuing maturity of full-lifecycle machine learning tool suites, combining enduring engineering practices with combinations of tools that work well in an iterative manner, showing that "machine learning is software too." Finally, for distributed architectures such as microservices, we see great interest in data mesh as a way to effectively serve and use analytical data at scale in distributed systems. As the industry thinks more diligently about how data should work in modern systems, we're encouraged by the general direction and opening perspectives in this arena and expect to see exciting innovations in the near future.

Kubernetes & Co. Cambrian Explosion


As Kubernetes continues to consolidate its market dominance, the inevitable supporting ecosystem thrives. We discussed a number of blips surrounding Kubernetes in the tools, platforms and techniques quadrants, showing just how pervasive this subject has become. For example, Lens and k9s simplify cluster management, kind helps with local testing and Gloo offers an alternative API Gateway. Hydra is an OAuth server optimized to run on Kubernetes, and Argo CD uses Kubernetes’ native desired-state management to implement a CD server. These developments indicate Kubernetes is perfectly poised to create a supporting ecosystem; it offers critical capabilities but with abstractions that are often too low level or advanced for most users. Thus, the complexity void fills with tooling to either ease the configuration and the use of Kubernetes or supply something missing from the core functionality. As Kubernetes continues to dominate, we see a rich ecosystem growing and expanding to take advantage of its strengths and address its weaknesses. As this ecosystem matures, we expect it to evolve toward a new set of higher-level abstractions offering the benefits of Kubernetes without the bewildering range of options.

Visit our archive to read previous editions

Subscribe. Stay informed.

We publish articles related to Technology Radar throughout the year

Thank you!

You have been subscribed to our Technology Radar content. Keep an eye on your inbox, we will be in touch soon.