Enable javascript in your browser for better experience. Need to know to enable it? Go here.
在本章中,我们会着眼于使用数据来揭露不公,并使用技术提供赋权平台以帮助被剥夺权利的群体。

原则:思考与行动

 

几百年来,社会和种族不平等在管理政治和经济活动的机制中根深蒂固。新冠肺炎疫情对全球低收入及边缘化社区产生尤为严重的影响,美国发生的乔治·弗洛伊德和布伦纳·泰勒之死等一些列事件都使由来已久的不平等现象受到了史无前例的的国际关注。这迫使我们从社会、公司和个人的角度追问:在持续的不平等中,我们扮演了何种角色,我们能采取哪些措施来解决这一问题?

 

我们对这些问题的响应源于我们的共识基础:树立和加强社会不平等的认知,以及承认存在这些现象并建立富有同理心的企业文化。在企业内部,我们明确指出,种族平等是组织和文化要求,而不是流程问题;平等必须体现在晋升机会和代表性上。

 

在企业外部,我们加深与社会组织的伙伴关系,强调我们会与伙伴团结一致,为伙伴提供服务,从而了解我们作为技术人员可以在哪些方面发挥最大作用。我们的合作促成了致力于解决警务人员不当行为,保护女性家政从业者权利和支持全民教育等方面的项目。最重要的是,我们认识到,我们总是能为变革做出更多贡献,而且还有更多的声音值得被听见。

我们从来不主导社会变革。我们并不是确定具体目标,然后寻找合作伙伴来帮助我们实现目标。我们为合作伙伴以及他们的行动提供服务。我们试图从系统的视角理解 Thoughtworks 在哪些方面能够真正发挥最大作用,并就这一问题同伙伴展开高度开放和坦诚的对话。建立起包容性需要更长的时间,但同时也会吸引更多的人,助力社会变革。
Elise Zelechowski
Thoughtworks DEISSC 办公室主任

实践中

 

下列例子描述了我们在种族和社会公平方面的工作,反映了我们的全球性工作重点和观念,即必须由受影响的人民和社区来领导斗争。我们认为,我们的作用在于向这些社区提供技术工具,帮助他们了解和建立网络,并提高进行变革的呼声。

 

应对美国的种族不平等

 

“Black  Lives Matter(BLM)”的运动再次兴起以及美国各地的其他民权抗议活动都是由警察暴力执法行为引发,但这些事件的发生其实根植于漫长的压迫历史,这些运动引起了 Thoughtworks 北美公司的深刻反思。许多声音提出了正当诉求,要求我们更多地支持我们的员工和更广泛的黑人和棕色人种社区。

 

种族平等对我们来说并不是一项新的工作。从 2011 年开始,我们就已经在公司建立起内部网络,并与Black Girls Code和Hands Up等外部组织联合,帮助黑人青年发展技术技能和规划职业道路。在 2020 年,我们加倍努力地倾听和采取行动,让北美各地数百名 Thoughtworks 员工就如何解决系统性不平等问题进行公开对话。

James Grate, wearing a red shirt and glasses and smiling
我们的重点是如何为我们的员工提供支持,并对更广泛的黑人和棕色人种产生积极影响。应该让所有 Thoughtworks 员工都有归属感。我们的文化具有包容性,尊重他人,并且保持人的尊严的特点。我们也强调代表性平等和机会平等。多元化组织是很棒,但还不足以确保所有人都有晋升机会。我们有责任破除障碍,为每个人提供工具和资源,确保他们具备实现目标所需的技能和经验。
James Grate
Thoughtworks 北美公司多元化、公平性和包容性负责人
我们的重点是如何为我们的员工提供支持,并对更广泛的黑人和棕色人种产生积极影响。应该让所有 Thoughtworks 员工都有归属感。我们的文化具有包容性,尊重他人,并且保持人的尊严的特点。我们也强调代表性平等和机会平等。多元化组织是很棒,但还不足以确保所有人都有晋升机会。我们有责任破除障碍,为每个人提供工具和资源,确保他们具备实现目标所需的技能和经验。
James Grate
Thoughtworks 北美公司多元化、公平性和包容性负责人

基于多元和包容理念的许多想法,我们正在付诸实施和行动,例如改善 Thoughtworks 内部的多元化、公平性和包容性 (DEI) 基础设施,以消除无意中阻碍员工晋升的障碍;建立种族平等员工小组,为支持当地反种族主义运动提供指导;加强 Thoughtworks 与争取种族平等组织之间的伙伴关系。不管媒体关注点如何变化,我们仍将在今后工作中保持议题聚焦。

 

 

澳大利亚第一民族进入科技行业的途径

 

白人和澳大利亚原住民在生活条件、经济机会和司法行政方面面临巨大差异,这种差异在技术行业也显而易见。多数报告估计,尽管澳大利亚土著和托雷斯海峡岛民占澳大利亚人口的三分之一,但其中只有不到 100 人从业于澳大利亚科技行业。

 

2019 年末,受到与原住民组织和游说团体展开的讨论以及印度和巴西同事成功发起的倡议鼓舞,我们加大了纠正这种不平衡现象的力度。我们成立了为客户开发软件的第一民族交付中心,其中至少 50% 的技术人员是澳大利亚土著和托雷斯海峡岛民。

 

中心有两条主要的运营原则:第一条原则是:问题不在于他们,而在于我们。也就是说,我们的组织必须学习如何更好地支持原住民技术人员的文化、追求以及学习和沟通的独特方式。 例如我们的目标:保持中心分布。这样,对于更愿意居住在其原住乡村或附近的澳大利亚土著和托雷斯海峡岛民来说,我们能够为他们提供更多的职业选择。通过国家原住青年职业跟踪计划,我们竭力为原住技术人员提供完整的职业发展规划,甚至在某些情况下,从实习就开始规划。

Jacob Olsen
通过实习,我对技术越发热爱,我毫不怀疑地相信,我热爱编程,而这份热爱又恰好能够创造社会经济效益。自 2017 年 1 月正式入职 Thoughtworks 以来,我参与了多个项目,涉及许多行业,我作为工程师和顾问的核心技能也得到提高,更能够创造更优质、对社会更有益的软件。
Jacob Olsen
前CareerTrackers实习生,现为 Thoughtworks 澳大利亚公司软件开发人员
通过实习,我对技术越发热爱,我毫不怀疑地相信,我热爱编程,而这份热爱又恰好能够创造社会经济效益。自 2017 年 1 月正式入职 Thoughtworks 以来,我参与了多个项目,涉及许多行业,我作为工程师和顾问的核心技能也得到提高,更能够创造更优质、对社会更有益的软件。
Jacob Olsen
前CareerTrackers实习生,现为 Thoughtworks 澳大利亚公司软件开发人员

第二项原则是这一中心并非慈善或企业社会责任项目。它是公司在当地业务不可分割的一部分,与企业的其它部分一样,同样注重持续改进、始终向客户提供优质软件,并实现盈利。 中心已经为澳大利亚的一家大型零售商搭建了高度集成和响应的客户主页门户,并且将成为我们未来向澳大利亚的其他大客户提供产品的核心部分。

 

 

利用数据强化警察问责制

 

然乔治·弗洛伊德被杀事件引起了全美乃至全球对警察暴力问题的质疑,但在美国,警察行为不当的遗留问题已经延续了几十年,受害者往往得不到关注。

 

根据我们的经验,数据可以揭示原先忽视的问题,多年来我们一直与总部位于芝加哥的 Invisible Institute 密切合作,支持开展公民警察数据项目 (CPDP)。这项工作有助于报告、揭露各种不当行为并采取行动,目前还与公共数据工程 (Public Data Works) 部门展开了合作。后者是一家向其他城市推广以数据为中心的问责工具的组织。

 

我们从新奥尔良市独立警察监控机构开始,与公共数据工程部门合作,评估该机构是否需要更好地收集、监测和报告警察不当行为。与新奥尔良独立警察监控机构的早期合作表明,目前的首要工作应是建立一套警察不当行为数据获取工具。我们了解到,监控机构缺乏处理投诉的能力,而人们往往又不愿意向警察部门提出申诉,因此,帮助公民向独立机构提出投诉至关重要。

该项目形成了一套案例管理体系,简化了报告流程,并能方便警察和监管者准确分析和评估警员当前行为模式。这意味着受负面警察行为影响的社区,可以向监督部门、公民和监管部门提供所需的信息,以便追究警察部门责任,并提倡做出变革。

帮助南美家政从业人员维护自身权利

 

与世界其他地方的家政从业人员一样,南美的家政从业人员在艰难甚至不时危险的工作环境中苦苦挣扎。在厄瓜多尔,估计有 80% 的女性家政人员在工作中遭受过暴力或骚扰 (1)。在巴西,绝大多数家政从业人员都是有色人种妇女,只有大约三分之一签订了正式的合同。这些问题往往是因为:对家政从业人员有权享有的法律权利缺乏了解,同时,在遭受暴力对待后,不知道如何进行追偿。

 

我们的团队与多个工人联盟和工会直接协调,设计了旨在弥补这些差距的解决方案。在厄瓜多尔基多,我们的社会转型实验室创建了一款应用程序,为家政人员提供法律咨询和帮助。我们与全国专业家政人员联盟密切合作,确保产品 (2) 能够反映用户群所关注的话题(这也正是这个应用程序的设计目的所在),并能够方便技术能力欠佳的人员使用。这款应用程序最初版本的普及率一直很高,我们相信它有能力帮助厄瓜多尔全国数万名妇女。

巴西也采取了类似的合作方式,我们积极努力升级巴西全国家政联盟 (Fenatrad) 的技术架构和网站。该项目的主要目的是重新设计网站,以尽可能直观的方式,向依赖网站资源的人员提供信息。根据与家政从业人员的谈话,我们做出了改进,确保培训和教育资源更直观可见、更方便使用,同时还突出展示了巴西家政从业人员过去反抗暴力的历史。

 

Two Thoughtworkers at a desk, connected by video with a large group of children in rural China, sitting on the floor listening. Two Thoughtworkers at a desk, connected by video with a large group of children in rural China, sitting on the floor listening.

普及教育

在东南亚,我们一直在合作设计、开发一款阅读应用程序。重点旨在鼓励校外和贫困青年培养终身学习爱好,同时学习文化知识。

继续阅读

前言:社会影响力报告

第一章:负责任的技术和创新

 

第二章:超越多元化

第三章:包容性和社会公平

第四章:可持续性和气候行动

 

第五章:医疗人权

 

(1)https://www.care.org.ec/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/RESUMEN-TRH.pdf 

(2)The app is called TR UNIDAS and is available here 

详细了解我们的社会影响力

Enable javascript in your browser for better experience. Need to know to enable it? Go here.
Here we will look at how we are using data to shine a light on injustice and using technology to help provide disenfranchised communities platforms for empowerment.

Principles: a time for reflection and action

 

Social and racial injustice has for centuries been deeply entrenched in the mechanisms that govern political and economic activity. But recent events, such as the disproportionate impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on low-income and marginalized communities globally, and the killings of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor in the United States, have thrust longstanding inequalities into the international spotlight in an unprecedented way. This has forced us, as a society, as a company, and as individuals, to ask - what role are we playing in perpetuating inequality, and what steps can we take to address it?

 

Our response to these questions begins with our foundation: building and strengthening a culture of awareness and empathy that acknowledges these dynamics. Internally, we make it clear that racial equity is an organizational and cultural requirement, not a pipeline problem; and that equality must be manifested in advancement opportunities as well as representation.

 

Externally, we deepen connections with our partners in social movements, emphasizing that we stand with them in solidarity and service, to learn where we, as technologists, can create the most impact. Our partnerships have enabled programs to address police misconduct and protect the rights of female domestic workers, as well as supporting education for all - to give just a few examples. Above all, we recognize that there will always be more we can do to contribute to change - and more voices that deserve to be heard.

With social change, it’s never been about us. We operate in the service of our partners and their movements. We try to understand from a systems perspective where Thoughtworks can really make the most impact, and have very open and honest conversations about that. Inclusive processes take much more time. But they bring more people along, and are stronger for it.
Elise Zelechowski
Head of the Office of DEISSC, Thoughtworks

In practice

 

The following examples of our racial and social justice work reflect our global focus and our belief that the struggle must be led by the people and communities affected. We view our role as providing these communities with technology tools that help them inform and build their networks, and to amplify calls for change.

 

Confronting racial injustice in the United States

 

The resurgence of Black Lives Matter (BLM) and other civil rights protests across the United States, ignited by recent acts of police violence but rooted in a long history of oppression, prompted a deep reckoning within Thoughtworks North America. Many voices rightly demanded we do more to support our own people and the wider Black and brown communities.

 

Racial justice work is not new to us. Since 2011 we have built networks internally and with outside organizations such as Black Girls Code and Hands Up United to develop tech skills and clear career pathways for Black youth. However, in 2020 we redoubled efforts to listen and to act, bringing together hundreds of our people across North America to have open conversations on ways to address systemic injustices.

James Grate, wearing a red shirt and glasses and smiling
All Thoughtworkers should feel a sense of belonging. Our environment is inclusive, respectful and preserves dignity. We also emphasize equity of representation and opportunities. Diverse organizations are great, but ensuring all people have access to advancement is another level. It’s our duty to dismantle barriers and provide the tools and resources to everyone to ensure they have the skills and experience necessary to achieve their goals.
James Grate
Head of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Thoughtworks North America
All Thoughtworkers should feel a sense of belonging. Our environment is inclusive, respectful and preserves dignity. We also emphasize equity of representation and opportunities. Diverse organizations are great, but ensuring all people have access to advancement is another level. It’s our duty to dismantle barriers and provide the tools and resources to everyone to ensure they have the skills and experience necessary to achieve their goals.
James Grate
Head of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Thoughtworks North America

Many of the ideas from these sessions are now being put in practice, including improving our own Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) infrastructure to remove unintentional barriers to advancement; establishing a racial justice employee resource group that provides guidance on supporting local anti-racism movements; and strengthening our partnerships with organizations working for racial equality. We will continue and build on these efforts in the months ahead, regardless of how the media spotlight shifts.

 

Pathways to tech for Australia’s First Nations

 

The massive disparities in living conditions, economic opportunities, and the administration of justice between white and Indigenous Australians are also glaringly evident in the technology sector. By most estimates there are fewer than 100 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the tech industry in Australia, despite these groups comprising three percent of the population.

 

In late 2019, inspired by discussions with Indigenous organizations and advocates, as well as initiatives successfully launched by colleagues in India and Brazil, we stepped up our efforts to right this imbalance. We established our First Nations delivery center – dedicated to building software for our clients – staffed by at least 50% Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander technologists.

 

The center operates on two main principles. The first is that ‘the problem isn’t them, it’s us’ - meaning our organization has to learn how to better support the culture, aspirations, and distinct ways of learning and communicating of Indigenous technologists, not the other way around. An example is our aim to keep the center distributed, which allows us to provide career options to the many Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders who prefer to live on or near Country – their often rural ancestral homelands. We strive to offer Indigenous technologists a complete career development trajectory, in some cases beginning with internships through the national CareerTrackers program for Indigenous youth.

Jacob Olsen
I was able to use the internship to reinforce my love of technology, knowing without a shadow of doubt that I was passionate to build software for a living, and that passion of technology could be combined with social and economic justice. Since starting at Thoughtworks, I’ve worked across many industries, strengthening my core skills as an engineer and consultant, to build better and socially-just software.
Jacob Olsen
Former CareerTrackers Intern and current Software Developer, Thoughtworks Australia
I was able to use the internship to reinforce my love of technology, knowing without a shadow of doubt that I was passionate to build software for a living, and that passion of technology could be combined with social and economic justice. Since starting at Thoughtworks, I’ve worked across many industries, strengthening my core skills as an engineer and consultant, to build better and socially-just software.
Jacob Olsen
Former CareerTrackers Intern and current Software Developer, Thoughtworks Australia

The second principle is that the center is not considered a charity or corporate social responsibility project. It is an integral part of our local business, working with the same focus on constant improvement, consistent delivery of quality software to customers, and profitability as the rest of the organization. The center has already produced a highly-integrated and responsive customer profile portal for one of Australia’s leading retailers and will be a core part of our offering to other major clients in Australia in future.

 

Harnessing data to increase police accountability

 

While the killing of George Floyd called national, and global attention to the issue of police violence, there is a legacy of police misconduct in the United States that stretches back decades, the victims of which often go unnoticed.

 

Based on our experience that data can shed light on previously overlooked problems, we have collaborated closely for years with the Chicago-based Invisible Institute to support its Citizens Police Data Project (CPDP). This work of making misconduct easier to report, visualize and action now continues with Public Data Works, an organization bringing data-centric accountability tools to other cities.

 

Starting with the Independent Police Monitor of the City of New Orleans, we worked with Public Data Works to evaluate the needs of the agency to better collect, monitor and report on police misconduct. Early work with the Independent Police Monitor of New Orleans made it clear a robust police misconduct data intake tool should be a priority. We learned that the Monitor lacked the capacity to handle complaints and people were often reluctant to bring grievances to the police themselves, so a way to help citizens file complaints to an independent body was essential.

The project resulted in a case management system that streamlines the reporting process and also provides for analyses and assessments that accurately present patterns of officer behavior to police and regulators. This means communities affected by negative police behavior giving oversight agency, citizens and regulatory agencies the information they need to hold police departments accountable and advocate for change.

Empowering South American domestic workers to assert their rights

 

Like their counterparts elsewhere in the world, domestic workers in South America grapple with challenging, at times dangerous, working environments. In Ecuador, an estimated 80% of female houseworkers have faced violence or harassment at work (1). In Brazil, where the vast majority of domestic workers are women of color, only around a third work under a formal contract. Often these issues are connected to a lack of understanding of the legal rights that workers are entitled to, and the avenues of recourse available when these are violated.

 

Coordinating directly with workers’ associations and unions, our teams devised solutions designed to bridge these gaps. In Quito, Ecuador, our Social Transformation Lab helped create an app that provides legal advice and aid to houseworkers. We collaborated closely with the National Union of Professional Houseworkers to ensure the product (2) reflected the concerns of the user base it was designed for, and was accessible to those with limited technical skills. Uptake of the initial version of the app has been strong and we are convinced it has the potential to help tens of thousands of women nationwide.

 

A similarly collaborative approach was adopted in Brazil, where we engaged in a pro bono effort to upgrade the technology infrastructure and website of the National Federation of Domestic Workers (Fenatrad). The project’s main aim was to reimagine the website to be as intuitive and informative as possible for the workers who depend on it as a resource. Based on conversations with these workers, changes were made that enhanced the visibility and accessibility of training and educational resources, and highlight the historical struggle of domestic workers in the country

Two Thoughtworkers at a desk, connected by video with a large group of children in rural China, sitting on the floor listening. Two Thoughtworkers at a desk, connected by video with a large group of children in rural China, sitting on the floor listening.

Education for all

In SouthEast Asia we have been partnering on the ideation and development of a reading app. The focus is to encourage out of school and underprivileged young people to develop a lifelong love of learning, while building literacy in this community.

(1)https://www.care.org.ec/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/RESUMEN-TRH.pdf 

(2)The app is called TR UNIDAS and is available here 

Learn more about our social change initiatives