Enable javascript in your browser for better experience. Need to know to enable it? Go here.
在本章中,我们将展示如何努力减少我们的碳足迹,利用技术来识别和减轻气候变化的负面影响。

原则:解决系统性的共同全球危机

 

尽管最近新冠肺炎疫情 (1) 造成极大影响,但目前气候变化仍然是人类面临的最大、最紧迫的挑战。全球变暖的不利影响已经凸显并且正在不断加剧。为避免出现最糟糕的情况,例如人类赖以生存的唯一生态系统遭到彻底破坏,当务之急是采取切实有效的行动。

 

缓解与气候变化相关的风险,需要企业、政府和个人通力合作,改变工作和行为方式。必须建立有效的过渡策略,促进采取统一行动,并帮助认识到并非所有人都对气候变化影响负有相同责任,也并非所有人都会受到气候变化影响。引发气温上升的大部分污染和资源开采活动都是工业化国家造成的。过渡策略中,必须包括这些国家就上述损害的赔偿,此外,还要包括以更可持续的方式实现经济和技术发展的计划和资源

Amanda Ting
Thoughtworks 计划在未来几年消除自身的气候影响。虽然对更宽泛的气候问题而言,我们的贡献可能很小,但我们希望我们可以与客户、合作伙伴和行业深度合作,扩大影响力。我们将始终倡导员工在工作和生活中把可持续性放在首位,寻找能够减少碳足迹的新型创新方法。
Amanda Ting
Thoughtworks DEISSC 可持续发展全球计划负责人
Thoughtworks 计划在未来几年消除自身的气候影响。虽然对更宽泛的气候问题而言,我们的贡献可能很小,但我们希望我们可以与客户、合作伙伴和行业深度合作,扩大影响力。我们将始终倡导员工在工作和生活中把可持续性放在首位,寻找能够减少碳足迹的新型创新方法。
Amanda Ting
Thoughtworks DEISSC 可持续发展全球计划负责人

为了将我们的设想转化为行动,我们正在制定一份气候变化路线图,这些考虑因素都是路线图的重要组成部分。我们希望描绘更精确的碳足迹图片,寻找减少碳足迹的方法。 我们还将气候变化因素纳入我们开发的技术中,推出绿色云这样的解决方案,该方案可以直接帮助减少排放。

 

未来五年,我们的目标是为客户和合作伙伴提供更多可持续的技术替代方案;为致力于缓解气候变化的全球和地区网络做出贡献,并让代表性不足群体参与到这一重要对话中。

实践中

 

气候变化是一个涉及多方面的问题。目前,我们多管齐下,在减少对环境影响的同时,与合作伙伴一起,加快向更平衡的增长方式转变。

Decorative image: Thoughtworker in Brazil staring at the camera, with a faded rainbow in the background Decorative image: Thoughtworker in Brazil staring at the camera, with a faded rainbow in the background

2019年低碳化承诺

私营行业的行动对避免气候灾难起着关键性作用。2019年,我们与其他龙头企业一起参与科学碳目标倡议(SBTi)。该倡议是碳披露项目 (CDP)、联合国全球契约、世界资源研究所和世界自然基金联合发起的合作项目。SBTi旨在帮助公司确定其所需减排的规模和速度,以防出现最糟糕的气候变化影响。

根据 SBTi,我们审查各种数据类别,涉及公司全球各办事处差旅、用电、空调使用等方方面面。这些数据将有助于我们确定最合适的减排目标,并藉此指导制定路线图。这就是我们的企业文化,要充分理解全局,而不是仓促地做出不切实际或影响力不足的承诺。在制定计划时,我们尽量保持谨慎和周到的思考维度,确保选择正确的优先事项,保证顺利践行、甚至超越我们做出的承诺。

 

 

推进联合国可持续发展目标的技术平台

 

联合国可持续发展目标 (SDG) 是一项重要蓝图,旨在建立更公平、生态更健康、更和平的世界。在我们的大部分可持续性和社会影响力工作中,我们都支持实现可持续发展目标。最近我们与美国可持续发展联盟 (USCS) 建立合作伙伴关系就是证明。美国可持续发展联盟是一个创新型非营利机构,旨在利用技术帮助企业、投资者和其他利益相关者向着可持续发展目标努力奋斗,相互协作,相互学习。

与 USCS 合作,我们推出了 SustainChain™ Beta 版,这是一个开创性的点对点平台,汇集了各大品牌、创新者和影响投资者,分享挑战和最佳实践,并寻找合作机会。SustainChain™ 帮助成员跟踪具体持续性目标的进展,甚至找到资金、试点和规模的解决方案。该项目已经于 2020 年底在联合国大会上公开启动,并获得行业大力推动。 

实现云的可持续性

云架构已经具备强大的灵活性和可扩展性等特点,但如果不能适当优化,环境成本非常高。数据中心的电力需求和温室气体排放分别约占全球总值的 1% (2) ,随着数据量继续飙升,这种情况只会愈加严重。

云策略中考虑可持续性要求,可以产生可观的环境红利,并节约成本。 在公司内部及与客户合作过程中,我们实施绿色云优化,减少碳排放和云支出。我们的新开源解决方案云碳足迹使测量和监控云使用数据获得大量关注,并提供了相关工具,帮助团队制定可与利益相关者共享的可持续性指标。我们的团队确定了能够在环境和投资方面获得最高回报的重点领域,寻求重新配置、优化或重建云利用架构的方法,并审核 SaaS 的使用,从而提出更绿色环保的替代方案或更绿色环保的供应商合作方法。

Donut chart showing a cloud icon and 92%

企业在公有云上的支出没有任何减缓的迹象,某些云支出甚至每年增长 92%。 

Donut chart showing a electricity symbol and 8%

到 2030 年,ICT 行业可能占总电力需求的 8%,比 2010 年增长 15 倍。

Donut chart showing a world icon and 2-6%

自 2007 年以来,ICT 行业的温室气体排放量占全球总量的 2-6%,与航空行业相当。 

Donut chart showing a calendar and 45%

为了实现《巴黎协定》的目标,本行业需要在未来 10 年内将碳排放减少 45%。

其中,开发团队在绿色云优化中建立和实施新的最佳实践也同样重要,这样组织就可以沿着可持续的云路径继续前进。

继续阅读

前言:社会影响力报告

第一章:负责任的技术和创新

 

第二章:超越多元化

第三章:包容性和社会公平

 

 

第四章:可持续性和气候行动

 

第五章:医疗人权

 

详细了解我们的可持续发展举措

Enable javascript in your browser for better experience. Need to know to enable it? Go here.
In this chapter we examine how we are working to reduce our own carbon footprint, leveraging technology to identify and mitigate the negative impacts of climate change.

Principles: addressing a systemic and shared global crisis

 

Though it has recently been overshadowed by the COVID-19 pandemic (1), climate change is by far the biggest and most pressing challenge faced by humanity. The negative impacts of global warming are already evident and accelerating. Urgent and concrete action is needed to avoid worst-case scenarios, which include the total destruction of the only ecosystem humankind can inhabit.

 

Mitigating climate change-related risks requires businesses, governments and individuals alike to transform the way they work and behave. A viable transition must be built on collective action, and the recognition that not all of us are equally responsible for, or affected by, climate change impacts. Much of the pollution and resource extraction behind rising temperatures is attributable to industrialized nations. Reparation of this damage, by those nations must be part of any transition strategy, alongside plans and resources that enable more sustainable forms of economic and technological development.

Amanda Ting
Thoughtworks is on a journey to carefully address our climate impact. While this may be a small contribution to the broader climate problem, we hope that we can connect with our clients, partners and the broader industry to amplify that impact. We’ll be enabling our people and business to keep sustainability top of mind, as well as discovering new, creative ways to diminish our carbon footprint.
Amanda Ting
Sustainability Global Programme Lead, Thoughtworks
Thoughtworks is on a journey to carefully address our climate impact. While this may be a small contribution to the broader climate problem, we hope that we can connect with our clients, partners and the broader industry to amplify that impact. We’ll be enabling our people and business to keep sustainability top of mind, as well as discovering new, creative ways to diminish our carbon footprint.
Amanda Ting
Sustainability Global Programme Lead, Thoughtworks

These considerations are an important part of our climate change roadmap, which we are developing to ensure our ambitions translate into action. We are working towards a more accurate picture of our carbon footprint, and identifying ways to reduce it. We are also factoring climate change considerations into the technology we build, launching solutions like our green cloud offering that have the potential to contribute directly to emissions reduction.

 

Over the next five years, we aim to ramp up sustainable technology alternatives for clients and partners; contribute to global and local-level networks working to mitigate climate change, and bring underrepresented voices to this vital conversation.

In practice

 

Climate change is a multifaceted issue. We are working along several tracks in parallel both to reduce our environmental impact and, with partners, to accelerate the shift to more balanced forms of growth.

 

Decorative image: Thoughtworker in Brazil staring at the camera, with a faded rainbow in the background Decorative image: Thoughtworker in Brazil staring at the camera, with a faded rainbow in the background

Committing to decarbonization in 2019

Private sector action is critical to averting climate catastrophe. In 2019 we joined other leading enterprises in the Science Based Targets initiative (SBTi), a joint partnership of the Carbon Disclosure Project, the United Nations Global Compact, the World Resources Institute and the Worldwide Fund for Nature. The SBTi is designed to help companies pinpoint the scale and speed of emission reductions they need to make to prevent the most severe climate change impacts.

In line with the SBTi we are examining a broad range of data categories, from travel and electricity consumption to areas like refrigerant use in our offices worldwide. This data will help us identify the best places to set ambitious emission reduction targets, and guide our roadmap from there. It is inherent in our culture to fully understand the whole picture, rather than jump ahead to make unrealistic, or potentially low-impact promises. The care and thought applied in setting up the program thoughtfully will ensure that our priorities are the right ones, and that we deliver on or exceed any commitments we make.

 

A tech platform to advance the UN SDGs

 

The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are an important blueprint for a more equitable, ecologically sound and peaceful world, and we support realization of the SDGs in much of our sustainability and social change work. This connection was evident in a recent partnership with the US Coalition on Sustainability (USCS), an innovative non-profit that seeks to leverage technology to help businesses, investors and other stakeholders working toward the SDGs collaborate and learn from each other.

Working with USCS, we launched a beta version of SustainChain™, a groundbreaking peer-to-peer platform that brings together brands, innovators and impact investors to share challenges and best practices, and find opportunities to work together. SustainChain™ allows members to track progress toward specific SDGs and even find solutions to fund, pilot and scale. It was launched publicly at the UN General Assembly in late 2020 and continues to gain significant industry traction.

Bringing sustainability to the cloud

Cloud architecture has enabled massive flexibility and scalability gains, but these come at a significant environmental cost if not properly optimized. Data centers are responsible for around 1% of global electricity and greenhouse gas emissions (2) and this is only likely to grow as data volumes continue to soar. 

Building sustainability requirements into cloud strategy can generate sizable environmental dividends as well as cost savings. Internally and in our work with clients we are implementing green cloud optimization to reduce carbon emissions and cloud spend. Our new open source solution, Cloud Carbon Footprint, provides the visibility and tooling to measure and monitor cloud usage data, helping teams produce sustainability metrics that can be shared with stakeholders. Our team identifies areas to focus on that will provide the highest returns in environmental and investment terms, looking for ways to reconfigure, optimize or re-architect use of the cloud, as well as auditing SaaS use to suggest greener alternatives or greener ways of using providers.

Donut chart showing a cloud icon and 92%
Enterprise spending on public cloud shows no signs of slowing with some types of cloud spending growing by 92% per year.
Donut chart showing a electricity symbol and 8%
The ICT industry is likely to account for 8% of total electricity demand by 2030 — a 15-fold increase from 2010.
Donut chart showing a world icon and 2-6%
The ICT industry has contributed 2–6% greenhouse gas emissions since 2007 — on par with aviation.
Donut chart showing a calendar and 45%
To meet the Paris Climate Agreement goals, the industry will need to reduce carbon emissions by 45% in the next 10 years.

Enabling development teams to build and run new best practices in green cloud optimization is also important in this endeavor, so that organizations can continue to progress along the sustainable cloud path.

Learn more about our sustainability work