Menü
Infrastructure WebConf

27th April 2020 | Online Event

Our Infrastructure WebConf allows technologists interested in DevOps to listen and ask questions to Infrastructure specialists Marion Bruns and Max Griffiths.

Our ThoughtWorks’ subject matter experts will explore best practices and thought-provoking learnings on the state of Infrastructure, testing and workflows for Infrastructure teams. 


Agenda


5.00pm GMT / 6.00pm CEST - Welcome


5.15pm GMT / 6.15pm CEST

The IAM role chaos: The pitfalls of setting up access management in the cloud

Marion Bruns, Software Developer, ThoughtWorks Germany

Public cloud providers offer comprehensive IAM tools, which enables you to easily define and apply granular access permissions to entities and resources in the cloud. In spite of these tools access management can become complex as soon the number of systems and the infrastructure are growing and cross-functional teams take over accountability for implementing and delivering services alongside their infrastructure. How to organise access control? How to manage access permissions for deployment pipelines for services and infrastructure code? There is not one concept for access management, but there are measures and tools to avoid running into a mess, which is almost impossible to refactor.


6.00pm GMT / 7.00pm CEST

Infrastructure as product: Commoditising the cloud with platform thinking

Max Griffiths, Infrastructure Consultant, ThoughtWorks UK

Public cloud offerings have become large and complex, and keeping ahead for them means pushing out more features than the competition. Over time this has led to a vast array of options for consumers to decipher: companies, engineering teams, and solo app developers alike need to build more expertise whilst attempting to achieve the benefits cloud promises. A common step is to put a team around it, but a DevOps team is widely regarded as an anti-pattern. Is a Platform Engineering team different? Over the last 15 years Max has helped organisations large and small make decisions that maximise the benefits of public cloud. Investing in public cloud means more than just migrating from on-premise. By drawing on patterns from platform building, Developer Experience, Conway's Law, and product focused teams, this talk will provide some examples of guardrails that keep you successful whilst on your cloud adoption journey.


6.45pm GMT / 7.45pm CEST - Ask me anything!

Q&A about infrastructure, ThoughtWorks and things you always wanted to know from passionate technologists.

We hope to see you at our next online event on 27th April

Speakers

Marion Bruns

Marion Bruns

Software Developer, ThoughtWorks Germany


Marion is a software developer with 25+ years of professional experience. As a coding architect and tech lead she works in all areas of software development, starting from programming to system architecture design. She has a passionate interest in the development of distributed system architectures and cloud and infrastructure topics. 

Max Griffiths

Infrastructure Consultant, ThoughtWorks UK


Max started as a Shell scripter fulfilling an urge to automate everything. Since then he’s been eating his way round the world working across multiple business verticals. Although the practice has changed names over time Max has been working in a DevOps context for 15 years, writing code and bringing teams closer together to help businesses of all sizes improve their software delivery capability. Currently working at a Global FS giant moving to a performant cloud that enables the business through platform engineering.

Register now!