菜单
Feathers
Feathers
Infrastructure WebConf Vol.3

Online Event | 30th September 2020

Our Infrastructure WebConf allows technologists interested in DevOps to listen and ask questions to our speakers and Infrastructure specialists: Gerald Schmidt, Marina Kjaer, Mónica Calderaro, Tim Fletcher and Pavana Shetty.

ThoughtWorks’ subject matter experts will explore best practices and thought-provoking learnings on the state of Infrastructure, docker container security and Infrastructure as data. 

Agenda

4.00pm BST / 5.00pm CEST - Welcome


4.15pm BST / 5.15pm CEST

Exploring docker container security: Risks and good practices

Mónica Calderaro, Software Developer and Marina Kjaer, Software Developer - ThoughtWorks Spain

The continued adoption of containers for deployments has introduced a new path for security issues. In this talk, we will cover the most common areas of vulnerabilities, the challenges in securing your containers, some good practices to help overcome these issues and how to run container security scanning as part of your deployment pipeline.


4.50pm BST / 5.50pm CEST

Building trust in networking

Tim Fletcher, Infrastructure Consultant and Pavana Shetty, Infrastructure Consultant - ThoughtWorks Germany

To successfully build a platform in public cloud and enable teams to move to hybrid connectivity between cloud and on-premise systems, it is of utmost importance for all engineers involved in the migration to trust each other. Equally it is important to understand the current design, and respect the history and processes in place. Large organisations often have decades or more of experience and that should be respected, change can happen without throwing away those years of experience.


5.30pm BST / 6.30pm CEST

Infrastructure as data - why should you care?

Gerald Schmidt, Infrastructure Consultant - ThoughtWorks UK

Defining cloud infrastructure as code has gone from best practice to how we all work in the space of a few years. For developers, this means increased portability and fewer moving parts. For Amazon's rivals, the barrier to entry is no longer 150 individual service offerings, but a robust managed Kubernetes service.

We cannot afford to ignore this trend. For our clients, the choices are more nuanced. We need to help them weigh the benefits of infrastructure as data against the risk of committing too soon, before the approach is ready in terms of ease of use, availability and durability.


6.45pm BST / 7.45pm CEST - Ask me anything!

Q&A about infrastructure, ThoughtWorks and things you always wanted to know from passionate technologists.


Please note, if there is anything else you require to be able to attend and fully participate in this online event, such as subtitles or anything else relating to accessibility, please do let us know and we will do our best to accommodate: Laura: lhinton@thoughtworks.com

Speakers

Marina Kjarer

Marina Kjarer

Software Developer, ThoughtWorks Spain


Marina joined ThoughtWorks over a year ago as a career changer and has focused her new journey on exploring a wide variety of learning paths. From development to product and design, she likes to be involved in the entire product lifecycle and is steadily traversing each section in depth to grow as a technologist. Having always enjoyed teaching, she makes sure to not only learn from the community but also contribute by sharing knowledge gained along the way.

Mónica Calderaro

Mónica Calderaro

Software Developer, ThoughtWorks Spain


Mónica is a telecommunication engineer who decided to change careers a few years ago. She has a passionate interest in the development of a product from beginning to end and loves being able to collaborate with different communities at Thoughtworks, not only technical ones but about social impact as well. 

Gerald Schmidt

Gerald Schmidt

Infrastructure Consultant, ThoughtWorks UK


Gerald discovered infrastructure by a long and meandering route, encountering more C++ and XML pitfalls along the way than seems sensible. He has spent the past six years building cloud infrastructure. On cloudless nights you can catch him working on open source projects of questionable usefulness.

Pavana Shetty

Pavana Shetty

Infrastructure Consultant, ThoughtWorks Germany


Pavana started as an automation software engineer, and has worked on various domains, mainly CICD and digital transformation. With over 11 years of experience she’s an agile enthusiast who enjoys DevOps culture and teams to work closely together in migration projects. She’s currently working on a large German automotive manufacturer, to transform their IT Landscape through a platform.

Tim Fletcher

Tim Fletcher

Infrastructure Consultant, ThoughtWorks Germany


Tim is a Linux sysadmin turned Thoughtworks Infrastructure Developer. Tim has worked in a wide range of industries including; Education and Local Government, Energy, IoT and Cryptocurrency.

Register Now!