Master
Close up of a lens
Close up of a lens

视角六:技术作恶的影响扩大 


“恶意”技术通常与勒索软件、入侵系统窃取数据或制造计算机病毒等犯罪活动联系在一起,但这并不是全部。由于技术形势的发展,技术作恶的定义也该相应扩展,以包含那些虽然合法甚至被广泛接受,但最终会威胁社会福祉的行为。


< 上一视角 | 主页 >

科技棱镜未来技术趋势分析


随着技术变得越来越复杂,技术被误用滥用的形式也越来越多。人们在日常活动中越来越依赖科技,相应地,他们也越来越受到意想不到的、甚至是恶意的后果的影响。再加上高度的自动化使人类“蒙在鼓里”,以机器的速度做出决策,出错的可能性就会迅速增加。


根据我们的定义,“作恶”技术不仅包括恶意软件和黑客工具等犯罪技术,还包括恶意广告和客户定位。一项技术是否属于作恶,可能是一个视角问题。有些人并不认为互联网广告、跟踪 Cookie 或社交媒体传播活动具有侵入性,他们很乐意用自己的数据换取他们认为个性化或特殊价值的服务。有些人则在浏览器中安装了广告拦截软件,并完全避开微博、朋友圈等社交应用。对某些人来说,同意跟踪记录或收集个人数据基本上是一种自动选择;而对另一些人来说,则需要经过谨慎思考。


更重要的是,并非所有的作恶行为都是恶意或蓄意的。算法或机器学习系统中的偏差就是一例。这种偏差可能对某些客户群体表现出恶意倾向,但这种偏差并非由于系统在某方面妥协或设计者有意为之。相关预兆信号包括:


  • 技术日益普及,潜在威胁同时也在扩大。海量的联网设备就是一个简单的例子:IDC 预测,活跃的物联网(IoT)设备的数量到 2025 年将增至 557 亿部。所有这些设备都会有被利用的潜在安全漏洞。
  • 消费者对广告和营销技术的态度和行为正在发生变化,接受广泛使用自身数据的人和更关心隐私的人之间的分歧也越来越大。
  • 对于社交媒体在政治竞选中的使用和影响,以及社交媒体渠道对政治和其他社会舆论的影响,人们日益感到焦虑。
  • 人工智能和机器学习的应用日益广泛,产生了一些意想不到的后果,例如算法偏见。对恶意影响的担忧促使人们试图控制人工智能在如“招聘”等流程中的使用。
  • 围绕数据收集、保留和使用的法规得到加强,如《欧洲通用数据保护条例》(GDPR)、《加州隐私权法》(CPRA)以及其他司法辖区的同类规定。


机会


防范黑客蓄意攻击和恶意软件变得越来越重要。随着企业受攻击面日益扩大,企业必须大力投入进行防御,以对抗资金雄厚、组织严密的攻击者。然而,随着发生危险的可能性上升,企业还必须考虑恶意技术的其他方面问题。我们相信,尊重客户的意愿,避免“如影随形”的受众定位(如大数据杀熟),并根除算法系统中的偏见,不仅从本质上来说是正确的事情,而且有利于建立信任和积极的公众认知,并最终有利于企业的健康发展。


根据 IBM 的数据,2020 年,全球数据泄露造成的平均损失为 386 万美元。仅 2020 年上半年,欧洲监管机构针对违反 GDPR 的行为开出的罚单总计超过 5,000 万欧元。随着消费者对隐私日益重视,稳健的隐私保护措施已成为某些公司的一大优势。麦肯锡最近的一项调查发现,如果消费者担心一家公司的安全措施,或者认为其在未经许可的情况下泄露敏感数据,那么这些消费者大多数就不会与该公司开展业务。

Image of a city by night will light trailsImage of a city by night will light trails

我们所看到的当前形势

在与英国政府为期七年的一个合作项目中,我们帮助他们改变了与公民互动以及向公民提供公共服务的方式,从一开始就将信任和安全视为重中之重。该项目将不同的政府网站整合为一个强大而便利的平台,增强了公民体验,并大大缩短了部署周期。重要的是,该平台有一个在线身份认证系统提供支持,从而在公民提交服务申请时,同时满足所有必要的数据保护要求,并尊重个人的隐私权。最大限度减少产生负面结果的可能性,增强人们对平台的信心,促进了该平台的迅速普及。

值得关注的趋势:前三名


采纳

安全的软件交付。将交付流水线视为高风险的生产系统,因为根据设计,它们用于将软件部署到生产环境中。了解动态数据和静态数据的安全隐患。生成审计跟踪记录,了解并集成异常检测解决方案,以帮助检测安全事件。及时了解影响本地区的法规及其对系统的影响。


分析

现代化的授权机制。不断增加的网络威胁和不利因素,加上去中心化的微服务架构,已经让传统的授权(AuthZ)解决方案不堪重负。随着网络边界信任的逐渐消失,基于网络位置的授权已经失去作用。企业应考虑采用零信任BeyondCorpBeyondProd 以及信任向量等方法实现 AuthZ 流程的现代化,并在授权决策中纳入更多因素。



预测

量子计算。量子计算是一个经过验证的概念,但尚未大规模采用,可能需要很长时间才能达到成 熟。尽管其潜在应用的全部范围尚不清楚,但它值得密切关注,因为使用 Shor 算法之类的量子算法有可能可以轻松破解对许多系统,甚至整个互联网的加密。

值得关注的趋势:完整矩阵

当下存在的技术,正在业界得到充分利用。

  • 安全的软件交付
  • 去中心化安全
  • 开发安全运维
  • 自动化合规
  • 自适应自动化安全
  • 测试机器学习算法和应用程序
  • 刻意为隐私而作的设计
受到关注的技术,但依赖不同行业和应用场景。


  • 生物特征识别
  • 网络安全中的人工智能
  • 智能合约
  • 面部/表情识别
  • 区块链技术
  • 差分隐私
  • 可解释的人工智能 (XAI)
  • AutoML
  • 劳动力自动化
  • 尊重隐私的计算
  • 数据平台去中心化
  • 零知识证明
成熟度欠缺的技术,可能在未来几年产生重大影响。


  • “安全向前”企业
  • 监控技术
  • 令人上瘾的技术
  • 自主无人机/无人机即平台
  • 诚信企业TM 技术
  • 网络空间中的主权力量
  • 相关法规日益强化
  • 软件道德规范
  • 生产免疫系统
  • 量子计算
  • 隐私通信
  • 消费者数据隐私和安全的用户体验
  • 道德框架
  • 深度换脸 (Deepfakes)
  • 密码之死

对采纳者的建议


  • 关注安全,“人人有责”。安全状况是不断变化的,不能只由一个人或一个部门负责;企业所有人员都需要把安全放在首位。同样,您也不能简单地购买一个安全解决方案,安装它,然后就高枕无忧。从概念到生产的整个产品生命周期中都应考虑安全因素。将审计与监控结合起来,这样您就可以主动发现漏洞,并在出现漏洞时迅速做出响应。
  • 宣传企业对于保护隐私的积极立场。制定并传达清晰的策略(例如,承诺客户数据将永远不会离开设备),以此作为企业的差异化优势。确保员工和客户完全理解这些政策。
  • 只采集为消费者提供服务所需的数据。只采集为消费者提供服务所需的数据,而不是简单地收集所有可能采集到的数据。收集和存储非关键业务数据只会增加企业的技术和合规性负担,并为黑客或其他行为不轨者创造更大的攻击目标。
  • 制定一个明确的框架,概括企业检测和避免系统中的偏见的相应政策。制定一个明确的框架,概括企业检测和避免系统中的偏见的相应政策,并推行合乎道德的技术措施。布鲁金斯学会的“偏见检测和消除算法:减轻对消费者的危害的最佳实践和政策”就是一个例子。

到2022年,企业将… 

... 在开发和部署面向客户的系统和产品时,应考虑到比隐私泄露和安全漏洞更广泛的负面影响,并且要了解采取有力措施以最大程度减少意想不到的“作恶”结果,可能会成为竞争优势的一个来源。对富有远见的公司来说,安全和道德实践将体现在团队从事的一切工作中,而不仅仅是一套政策。
Dr. Rebecca Parsons

首席技术官,ThoughtWorks

下载完整报告

Master
Close up of a lens
Close up of a lens

Lens six: The expanding impact of hostile tech 


‘Hostile’ technology is commonly associated with criminal activity such as ransomware, breaking into a system to steal data or creating computer viruses — but this misses the complete picture. The landscape is evolving in a way that the definition of hostile tech should be broadened to include legal, even widely accepted, acts which ultimately threaten societal well-being. 


< Previous lens | Main page >

Scanning the signals 


As technology grows more complex, the ways in which it can be misused rise. And as people rely more on technology in daily activities, they are increasingly subjected to unintended — even hostile — consequences. Add in a high level of automation — taking humans ‘out of the loop’ and making decisions at machine speed — and the possibility for things to go wrong rapidly escalates.


‘Hostile’ tech by our definition can encompass not just criminal tech such as malware and hacking tools, but also use cases like advertising and customer targeting. Whether a technology is hostile can be a matter of perspective. Some people don’t find internet advertising, tracking cookies or social media influencing campaigns intrusive, and are happy to trade their data for what they perceive as personalized offers or special value. Others install ad blocking software in their browsers and eschew Facebook completely. Consenting to tracking or the collection of personal data is for some basically automatic; for others, a carefully considered choice.


What’s more, not all hostile behavior is malicious or intended. One example is bias in algorithms or machine learning systems. These may exhibit hostile tendencies towards certain customer groups without ever having been compromised or deliberately designed that way. Signals of this shift include: 


  • The increasing ubiquity of technology and concurrent expansion of the potential threat surface. One simple example is the sheer number of connections: IDC predicts the number of active Internet of Things (IoT) devices will grow to 55.7 billion by 2025. Each of these comes with potential security breaches that could be exploited
  • Evolving consumer sentiment and behavior towards ad and marketing tech, and increasing bifurcation between those who accept broad uses of their data and those who are more concerned about privacy
  • Rising anxiety about the use and impact of social media in political campaigns, and how social media channels are shaping political and other societal debates
  • Unintended consequences arising from increased use of AI and machine learning, such as bias in algorithms. Concerns about hostile impacts are prompting attempts to control the use of AI in processes like hiring
  • Increased regulation around data collection, retention and use, such as the European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the California Privacy Rights Act (CPRA), and equivalents in other jurisdictions


The Opportunity


Protection against deliberate hacking and malware is increasingly important. Companies must invest in defending a wider range of touchpoints against well-funded and organized adversaries. Yet as the potential for danger rises, other dimensions of hostile tech also have to be considered. We believe that being respectful of customer wishes, avoiding ‘spooky’ targeting, and rooting out bias within algorithmic systems is not only inherently the right thing to do, but conducive to trust, positive public perceptions, and ultimately the health of the business.


According to IBM, the average global cost of a data breach in 2020 was US$3.86 million. In the first half of 2020 alone, European supervisory authorities issued fines totalling over €50 million for GDPR violations. With consumers placing a higher value on their privacy, robust privacy practices have become a strong differentiator for some companies. A recent survey by McKinsey found a clear majority of consumers will not do business with a company if they have concerns about its security practices, or believe it gives out sensitive data without permission. 

Image of a city by night will light trailsImage of a city by night will light trails

What we’ve seen

In a seven-year partnership, we set out to help the UK government transform the way it interacted with and delivered public services to citizens, making trust and security a priority from the very beginning. The project united disparate government websites into a single robust and user-friendly platform, enhancing citizen experience and substantially accelerating deployment cycles. Importantly, the platform was backed by an online identification assurance system that allowed citizens to submit applications for services while meeting all necessary data protection requirements and respecting individuals’ privacy rights. Minimizing the potential for negative outcomes and fostering confidence in the platform encouraged its rapid adoption.

Trends to watch: Top Three


Adopt

Secure software delivery. Treat delivery pipelines as the high-risk production systems that they are, since by design they are used to deploy software to your production environments. Understand security implications for data in-flight and at rest. Generate audit trails, and learn about and integrate anomaly detection solutions to help detect security incidents. Stay abreast of compliance laws that affect your region and the effect they have on your systems.

Analyze

Modern AuthZ. A combination of increased cyber-threats and liability, coupled with decentralized microservices architecture, have stretched traditional authorization (AuthZ) solutions. With the boundaries of network perimeter trust fading, authorization based on network location loses its effectiveness. Consider adopting approaches like Zero Trust, BeyondCorp, BeyondProd, and Vectors of Trust to modernize your AuthZ processes and incorporate a broader spectrum of factors in authorization decisions.



Anticipate

Quantum computing. Quantum computing is a proven concept, but hasn’t scaled and may take a long time to approach maturity. Though the full scope of its potential applications is not yet clear, it bears close watching as there is a threat that the encryption of many systems, and indeed the entire internet, could be easily broken using quantum algorithms such as Shor’s.

Trends to watch: The complete matrix

Technologies that are here today and are being leveraged within the industry.

  • Secure software delivery
  • Decentralized security
  • DevSecOps
  • Automated compliance
  • Adaptive, automated security
  • Testing ML algorithms and applications
  • Privacy by Design
Technologies that are beginning to gain traction, depending on industry and use-case.


  • Biometrics
  • AI in cybersecurity
  • Smart contracts
  • Facial / Expression Recognition
  • Blockchain Technologies
  • Differential privacy
  • Explainable AI (XAI)
  • AutoML
  • Automated workforce
  • Privacy-respecting computation
  • Decentralized data platforms
  • Zero knowledge proofs
Still lacking in maturity, these technologies could have an impact in a few years.


  • “Security forward” businesses
  • Surveillance tech
  • Addictive tech
  • Autonomous drones / drone as a platform
  • Tech for the honest corporation™
  • Sovereignty as a force in cyberspace
  • Increased regulation
  • Code of ethics for software
  • Production immune system
  • Quantum computing
  • Privacy aware communication
  • UX of consumer data privacy and security
  • Ethical frameworks
  • Deep fakes
  • Death of passwords

Advice for adopters


  • Make security ‘everyone’s problem’. Security is fast-moving and can’t be the responsibility of just one person or department; people throughout the organization need to make it a priority. Similarly, you can’t simply buy a security solution, install it, and consider yourself protected. Security considerations should be built into your product lifecycle from idea to production. Combine audits with monitoring so you can proactively discover breaches and respond quickly when they occur.
  • Promote your positive privacy stance. Establish and communicate clear policies, such as promising customer data will never leave a device, as a business differentiator. Make sure these policies are fully understood by your employees and customer base.
  • Capture only the data needed to provide service to your consumers. Capture only the data needed to provide service to your consumers, rather than simply collecting everything possible. Gathering and storing data that is not business-critical only adds to the organization’s technology and compliance burden, and creates a bigger target for hackers or other bad actors.  
  • Create an explicit framework outlining your policies for detecting and avoiding bias in your systems. Create an explicit framework outlining your policies for detecting and avoiding bias in your systems, and promoting ethical technology practices. Brookings Institution’s Algorithmic bias detection and mitigation: Best practices and policies to reduce consumer harms is an example.

By 2022, businesses will… 

… consider a wider range of negative implications than privacy and security breaches when developing and deploying customer-facing systems and products, and understand that robust action to minimize unintended ‘hostile’ outcomes can be a source of competitive advantage. For forward-looking companies, rather than a set of policies, security and ethics will be a practice evident in everything teams do.
Dr. Rebecca Parsons

Chief technology officer, ThoughtWorks

Download the full report