Enable javascript in your browser for better experience. Need to know to enable it? Go here.

视角五:竞合促使平台走向生态系统

 
企业创建的各类平台越来越只是一个起点。为满足不断增长的客户期望,平台将不得不走向开放并与其它平台合作。这将促使平台朝生态系统转变,平台的产品和服务也随着与其它平台的竞争与合作而持续演进。

 

科技棱镜未来技术趋势分析

 

在当今市场中,无论企业是否愿意接受,生态系统都已经成为现实。然而当企业纷纷开始建立自己控制和扩展的平台时,现代商业的复杂竞合现状决定了只有多样化的生态系统才能脱颖而出。现代企业必须意识到,要么加入这个生态系统,要么失去这个市场。越早加入,才越有机会参与到这个生态体系。

 

一个平台和生态系统的关键区别在于控制。企业可以创建和运行一个平台,从而决定谁能参与其中。然而,对于生态系统,企业只能制定宽松的准入标准,使得其他企业可以自发参与。与生物生态系统类似,技术生态系统也会涉及竞争和“适者生存”。这意味一个商业生态系统也存在着共生、寄生、捕食等行为,参与者需要不断适应,否则就会灭亡。资源是有限的(通常是经济资源,但有时也有“消费者关注”之类的资源),而争夺这些资源的竞争会促进互动、创新和发展。相关预兆信号包括:

 

  • 企业拥有多个“平台”,并且在整个平台内部和这些平台之间会进行合作。例如,我们帮助连锁餐厅 Sonic 建立了一个灵活的数字化平台,使 Sonic 可以与语音等交互平台集成并试验多种场景,为客户提供更多便利。
  • 动态准入和移除生态系统的参与方。
  • 与“平台”和“消费者”之间的关系不同的是,生态系统各个组成部分之间更多的是“对等”关系,这意味着用户账户等信息的归属是去中心化的。

 

机会

 

消费者会根据您的产品是否适合他们的生态系统做出购买决定。误判您在生态系统中的位置可能会导致业务效果不佳,而知道何时共享或“放手”则可以创造竞争优势。

 

例如,多年来汽车制造商一直在投资建设专有平台,但这些平台却都由于两个原因而以失败告终。首先,驾驶员不会将自己的汽车视为一个封闭的平台;他们只希望自己的地图和音乐播放列表能正常使用。其次,汽车制造商不具备打造世界一流娱乐或地图体验所需的专业知识和能力,其提供的方案远远不如 Spotify 和谷歌地图。消费其实根本不在乎汽车制造商的专有平台,他们只是希望能够将其最重要的个人生态系统(即手机)扩展到汽车中。

 

我们从中获得的教训是:企业应专注在各自的核心优势上,同时确保其产品和服务能够与周边的生态系统形成有效的交互,这样才最有可能赢得客户,并在新兴商业环境中取得成功。

 AI and ML  AI and ML

我们所看到的当前形势

生态系统的一个典型例子是在线旅游业,包括旅游聚合网站、航空公司、酒店、旅馆和地面交通服务提供商等玩家。航空公司希望消费者直接在自己的平台上预订所有旅行产品和服务,这样他们可以控制品牌,并提供信用卡等其他产品。但消费者通常更喜欢使用聚合网站,这样他们就可以比较各个航空公司的价格,并计算全程费用等。对此,航空公司采取的措施是,将整个旅行生态系统的更多组成部分纳入到他们提供的服务中。例如,达美航空的移动应用程序现在允许用户直接预订优步或来福车(Lyft)。 虽然聚合商可能会给自己贴上“平台企业”的标签,但我们认为,聚合商实际上促成了一种生态系统,在这种生态系统中,航空公司可以通过参与其中获得大量商业价值。航空公司现在开始认识到,为其他生态系统参与者(尤其是商务旅行管理服务提供商)提供准确的数据是多么重要。举例来说,如果某航空公司的价格未正确载入 Thoughtworks 公司的员工差旅预订系统,并不会迫使员工直接在该航空公司的网站上订票,反而会导致员工选择其他家航空公司!

值得关注的趋势:前三名

 

采纳

业务 API 即产品。能否用产品思维来思考如何让您的 API 获得更多用户的使用,将是在现有生态系统和新兴生态系统中争夺一席之地的关键。将 API 视为产品需要创建其它资产,例如文档和支持服务,以鼓励其他企业采用它。像任何其他产品一样,API 也需要在理解和响应客户需求方面进行投资,这样才能高质量地满足客户需要。

 

分析

机器学习平台。为了加快机器学习在生产环境中的部署,并提升机器学习模型的训练和管理,许多公司正在打造机器学习平台,这些平台可以提供端到端的能力,如数据管理、特征工程、模型训练、评估和治理、可解释性、AutoML 以及向不同环境推送部署。



预测

全行业开放标准的激增。我们看到,有助于改善企业之间互操作性的行业特定标准日益增多。例如,GS1 条形码标准,如用于产品 ID 的全球贸易商品编号(GTIN);用于医疗保健行业的快捷式医疗服务互操作资源(FHIR)标准。政府层面也出台了一些举措来鼓励实现互操作性,旨在为消费者提供更高的可移植性,例如英国的开放银行举措。

值得关注的趋势:完整矩阵

Adopt
当下存在的技术,正在业界得到充分利用。
  • 边缘计算
  • 工业物联网平台
  • 多云组合
  • 智能合约
  • 自动化合规性
  • 演进式架构
  • 去中心化安全
  • 智能系统和生态系统
  • 业务API即产品
Analyze
受到关注的技术,但依赖不同行业和应用场景。
  • 机器学习平台
  • 托管服务和“可抛弃式”解决方案
  • 数字生态系统
  • P2P技术
  • 去中心化的数据平台
  • 云的可移植性
  • 智能的机器对机器协作
  • 雾计算
  • 现代化的授权机制
Anticipate
成熟度欠缺的技术,可能在未来几年产生重大影响。
  • 全行业开放标准
  • 卫星网络
  • 无处不在的连接
  • 智慧城市
  • 生产环境免疫系统
  • 抵制大型套装软件
  • 5G
  • 隐私通信
  • 绿色云
  • 人工智能市场
  • 协作生态系统
  • 私有物联网PaaS平台

对采纳者的建议

 

  • 将思维拓展到平台之外。在当今的大多数企业中,关于“平台”发展的必要性早已建立了广泛共识,往往还伴随着可观的投资。但重要的是,在构建平台的同时,更要考虑生态系统对企业所处市场的影响,确保所构建的平台和产品能够在更大范围的生态系统中成为有分量的参与者。
  • 迅速行动,灵活应变。与生物生态系统类似,对于技术生态系统的参与者而言,最糟糕的情况莫过于停滞不前——他们必须不断竞争和进化。在参与生态系统的过程中要有一定的机会主义意识,并且应认识到其他参与者可能也存在这种意识。参与者们可以在明显对自身有利的情况下进行合作,但只要一方认为自己能够战胜对手或选择更好的合作伙伴,这种合作就会停止。
  • 考虑客户的生态系统。除了技术角度,还要从市场进入的角度考虑生态系统。请扪心自问:是否有机会更好地与客户的生态系统整合?您是否应该与其他公司合作,以创建或扩展一个互补产品的生态系统?
  • 寻找新的联系。审视您现有的认知,即您的产品是如何与外界交互的,以及这些交互的范围与边界。从这些交互中寻找,为您的客户提供更多价值的机会,通过使您的产品和服务成为生态系统的一部分而实现增值。

到2022年, 企业将…

... 积极努力构建能融入更大生态系统的系统,这将使他们能够接触到过去无法触达的客户。此外企业将能够通过生态系统使用他人创造的技术,而不需要自己从头发明每个轮子,一个不断演进的生态系统将为参与者提供双赢的可能。
Zhamak Dehghani
总监顾问,Thoughtworks

下载完整报告

Master
Close up of lens
Close up of lens

Lens five: Coopetition forces platforms into ecosystems


The platforms created by businesses are increasingly only a starting point. Meeting rising customer expectations often requires joining up with or being open to other participants, turning platforms into ecosystems of related products and services that evolve dynamically as constituents cooperate and compete.


< Previous lens | Next lens >

Scanning the signals 


Ecosystems are the reality of the market today — whether organizations want them or not. Organizations set out to build platforms that they control and expand, but the messy reality of modern interconnected businesses is that often an ecosystem of diverse participants will emerge, and an organization will be forced to participate or lose its place in the market. The better you acknowledge that reality, the better placed you are to compete.


The key difference between a platform and an ecosystem is control. An organization can create and run a platform, which gives them control over who can participate. But a company can only loosely set standards for an ecosystem, and participants may emerge spontaneously. Like a biological ecosystem, a technology ecosystem involves competition and ‘survival of the fittest.’ This means symbiotic, parasitic and predatory behavior, as well as a continuing need to adapt or perish. There are limited resources — often economic, but sometimes something such as “consumer attention” — and the struggle for these fuels interaction, innovation and evolution. Signals here include: 


  • Organizations with more than one ‘platform,’ and cooperation across and between those platforms. For example, we helped restaurant chain Sonic build a flexible digital platform that enables it to integrate to and experiment with interaction platforms such as voice, delivering more convenience to customers.
  • Dynamic introduction and removal of participants within an ecosystem
  • More “peer” relationships between components as opposed to relationships between “platforms” and “consumers” — this implies no central ownership of information, such as user accounts


The Opportunity


Consumers make purchasing decisions based on how your product fits in their ecosystem. Misunderstanding your position in the ecosystem can lead to poor business outcomes, while knowing when to share or ‘let go’ can create a source of competitive advantage. 


For example, for years car manufacturers were investing to build proprietary platforms, These platforms failed for two reasons. First, drivers don’t think about their car as a closed platform; they just want their maps and music playlists to work. Second, auto manufacturers don’t have the specialization required to build world-class entertainment or mapping experiences, and always provided worse alternatives to the Spotify and Google Maps of the world. Consumers ultimately don’t care about their car manufacturer’s proprietary platform, they just want to be able to extend their most important and personal ecosystem — their phone — into the car.


The lesson here is that enterprises that play to their core strengths, and make sure their offerings are built to interact with surrounding ecosystems that are evolving holistically, will be best placed to win over customers and succeed in the emerging business environment.

Travelers in a busy airportTravelers in a busy airport

What we’ve seen

A good example of an ecosystem is the online travel industry, comprising travel aggregator sites, airlines, hotels, lodging, and ground transport providers. Airlines would prefer that consumers book travel directly on their platforms where they can control branding and offer other products such as credit cards — but consumers often prefer to use aggregators so they can compare prices between airlines and work out details such as the entire cost of their trip. Airlines have responded by incorporating more of the overall ecosystem into what they provide — for example, the Delta Airlines mobile app now allows you to book an Uber or Lyft directly. While the aggregator might label itself a ‘platform business,’ we would argue that aggregators actually enable ecosystems in which an airline can derive a lot of business value from being a participant. Airlines are now learning how important it is to provide accurate data to other ecosystem participants, especially corporate travel management services. To take one example, one airline’s prices were not being correctly loaded into the ThoughtWorks corporate booking system. Rather than driving fliers to book on the airline’s website directly, it simply caused them to choose another airline!

Trends to watch: Top Three


Adopt

Business API as product. Having a product focus, which includes deliberate thinking about how others will consume your APIs, will be key to competing for a spot in both existing and emerging ecosystems. Treating an API as a product requires the creation of other assets such as documentation and support offerings in order to encourage other organizations to adopt it. Like any other product, APIs require investment in understanding and responding to customer needs to keep them relevant and high-quality.


Analyze

ML platforms. To speed deployment of machine learning into production, and to accelerate the training and management of ML models, many companies are creating ML platforms that can provide end-to-end capabilities such as data management; feature engineering; model training, evaluation, and governance; explainability; AutoML; and promotion between environments.



Anticipate

Proliferation of industry-wide open standards. We’re seeing a growing number of industry-specific standards that can help drive better interoperability between companies. Examples are GS1 barcode standards like Global Trade Item Numbers (GTIN) for product IDs, and the Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) standard for the healthcare industry. There are also government-wide initiatives to encourage interoperability to give consumers more portability, such as the Open Banking initiative in the UK.

Trends to watch: The complete matrix

Technologies that are here today and are being leveraged within the industry.

  • Edge computing
  • Industrial IoT platforms
  • Polycloud
  • Smart contracts
  • Automated compliance
  • Evolutionary architectures
  • Decentralized security
  • Smart systems and ecosystems
  • Business API as product
Technologies that are beginning to gain traction, depending on industry and use-case.


  • ML platforms
  • Managed services and disposable solutions
  • Digital ecosystems
  • P2P technologies
  • Decentralized data platforms
  • Cloud portability
  • Intelligent machine-to-machine collaboration
  • Fog computing
  • Modern AuthZ
Still lacking in maturity, these technologies could have an impact in a few years.


  • Growing industry-wide open standards
  • Satellite networks
  • Ubiquitous connectivity
  • Smart cities
  • Production immune system
  • Big suite backlash
  • 5G
  • Privacy aware communication
  • Green clouds
  • AI marketplaces
  • Collaboration ecosystems
  • Private IoT PaaS platforms

Advice for adopters


  • Think beyond platforms. In most organizations today ‘platforms’ have momentum, mind share and often significant investment. But it’s important while creating and building on platforms to also think about the ecosystems that are taking shape in your space, and to ensure the platforms and products that you build can be peers in something larger.
  • Act fast, and be flexible. As with a biological ecosystem, the worst thing for participants in a technology ecosystem to do is stand still — they must continually compete and evolve. It’s important to be somewhat opportunistic with your participation in ecosystems, and recognize other participants are likely doing the same. Participants may cooperate when it is clearly beneficial to them, but only until one party feels they can out-compete a rival or choose a better partner.
  • Consider the ecosystems of your customers. Beyond technology, consider ecosystems from a go-to-market perspective. Ask yourself: are there opportunities to integrate better with your customers’ ecosystems? Should you partner with other companies in order to create or extend an ecosystem of complementary products? 
  • Look for new connections. Challenge your existing notions of how your products interact with the outside world, as well as the scope of those interactions. Look for opportunities in those interactions to deliver more value to your customers, and to make your products and services more valuable by nature of them being part of an ecosystem.

By 2022, businesses will… 

… actively strive to build systems that are part of larger ecosystems, which will allow them to reach customers that they couldn’t access otherwise. Combined with the fact that enterprises will be able to leverage technology created by others instead of struggling to build everything themselves, the evolving nature of platforms is a win-win proposition.
Zhamak Dehghani

Principal consultant, ThoughtWorks

Download the full report