Master
By ThoughtWorks Webinars

Tuesday, 20 April, 2021 - 11:30am AEST | 7:00am Bangalore | 8:30am Bangkok | 9:30am Singapore | 9:30am Beijing | 6:30pm San Francisco (1 hour inc 15 min Q&A)

Guiding the evolution of data mesh with fitness functions

With investment in data at an all time high, becoming a data-driven organisation has climbed to the top of the corporate agenda. Data mesh, first defined by ThoughtWorker Zhamak Dehghani, is a powerful new approach to getting business value from data.

But how do you know if you’re moving towards a data mesh target state? While implementation details may be complex and evolving, it is essential to be guided by objective measures to which diverse stakeholders can align. As an industry, while we figure out the best “how” to build data mesh architectures, we can agree on the “why” through clear objectives, and the “what we get” through clear measures, or fitness functions.

Join us for a webinar with Zhamak Dehghani and David Colls, and walk away with a deeper understanding of what success with data mesh looks like, a range of ideas to measure progress on your journey, and where to get started.

Speaker

Robin Doherty

Zhamak Dehghani

Director of Emerging Technologies, ThoughtWorks North America


Zhamak Dehghani works with ThoughtWorks as the director of emerging technologies in North America, with a focus on distributed systems and big data architecture, with a deep passion for decentralized technology solutions - the foundations for democratization: data mesh, decentralized trust and identity, and networking protocols.

She founded the concept of Data Mesh in 2018, a paradigm shift in big data management toward data decentralization, and since has been evangelizing the concept with the wider industry.

She is a member of ThoughtWorks Technology Advisory Board and contributes to the creation of ThoughtWorks Technology Radar. Zhamak has worked as a technologist for over 20 years and has contributed to multiple patents in distributed computing communications, as well as embedded device technologies.

David Colls

Director, Data & AI Practice, ThoughtWorks Australia


David is an innovative technology leader, with over 20 years’ experience leading the strategic and technical delivery of data and AI, digital strategy and change solutions. David combines diverse experience delivering complex technology solutions with his passion for customer outcomes to develop high performing teams capable of solving our clients’ complex problems.

As a Director of the Data and AI Practice at ThoughtWorks, David oversees all facets of developing Data and AI capabilities service offerings. David’s technical background is in developing simulation software for training and manufacturing.

Interested in a career at ThoughtWorks Australia?